1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Pacific Coast League





The league was founded in 1903, and with Major League Baseball almost completely east of the Mississippi River before the 1950s, the PCL was the top league for West Coast baseball. The original teams were in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Sacramento, Portland, Seattle and Oakland. San Diego was also a stalwart franchise for the first half of the 20th century. From 1952-57, the PCL was the only minor league ever to be given the classification of "open" - an experiment to have a tier above Class AAA. The goal was to create a third major league, but MLB expansion ended that quest. Five of the original cities now have MLB franchises. It's been a Class AAA league ever since.

Twice, the PCL absorbed some of the remnants of a league called the American Association and expanded. The first happened in 1963, when that league was depleted by new MLB franchises in the Midwest, specifically in Kansas City, Milwaukee and Minneapolis.

Another American Association formed in 1969 when MLB expanded again, and five teams from that league were absorbed into the PCL in 1997, and they are part of the American Conference of the PCL, which consists of some teams that are thousands of miles from the Pacific Coast.

Current Team Lineup (MLB affiliation in parentheses)

American Conference

North Division

  • Iowa Cubs (Cubs)
  • Memphis Redbirds (Cardinals)
  • Nashville Sounds (Brewers)
  • Omaha Storm Chasers (Royals)

South Division

  • Albuquerque Isotopes (Dodgers)
  • New Orleans Zephyrs (Marlins)
  • Oklahoma City RedHawks (Astros)
  • Round Rock Express (Rangers)

Pacific Conference

North Division

  • Colorado Springs Sky Sox (Rockies)
  • Reno Aces (Diamondbacks)
  • Salt Lake Bees (Angels)
  • Tacoma Rainiers (Mariners)

South Division

  • Fresno Grizzlies (Giants)
  • Las Vegas 51s (Blue Jays)
  • Sacramento River Cats (Athletics)
  • Tucson Padres (Padres)

Most Championships since 1963

  • Albuquerque 8
  • Sacramento 4
  • Edmonton 4
  • Spokane 3
  • Tacoma 3
  • Tucson 3
  • Vancouver 3
  • Colorado Springs 2
  • Hawaii 2
  • Las Vegas 2
  • Memphis 2
  • New Orleans 2
  • Salt Lake City 2
  • Nashville 1
  • Phoenix 1
  • Portland 1
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. MLB
  4. Minor Leagues
  5. Class AAA
  6. Pacific Coast League
  7. Pacific Coast League - Profile of Minor League Baseball's Triple-A Pacific Coast League

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.