1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

National League Most Valuable Player Award Winners


Winners of the National League Most Valuable Player Award from baseball history, as selected by the Baseball Writers of America:

2013: Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates

2012: Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants

2011: Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers

2010: Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds

2009: Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals

2008: Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals

2007: Jimmy Rollins, Philadelphia Phillies

2006: Ryan Howard, Philadelphia Phillies

2005: Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals

2004: Barry Bonds, San Francisco Giants

2003: Barry Bonds, San Francisco Giants

2002: Barry Bonds, San Francisco Giants

2001: Barry Bonds, San Francisco Giants

2000: Jeff Kent, San Francisco Giants

1999: Chipper Jones, Atlanta Braves

1998: Sammy Sosa, Chicago Cubs

1997: Larry Walker, Colorado Rockies

1996: Ken Caminiti, San Diego Padres

1995: Barry Larkin, Cincinnati Reds

1994: Jeff Bagwell, Houston Astros

1993: Barry Bonds, San Francisco Giants

1992: Barry Bonds, Pittsburgh Pirates

1991: Terry Pendleton, Atlanta Braves

1990: Barry Bonds, Pittsburgh Pirates

1989: Kevin Mitchell, San Francisco Giants

1988: Kirk Gibson, Los Angeles Dodgers

1987: Andre Dawson, Chicago Cubs

1986: Mike Schmidt, Philadelphia Phillies

1985: Willie McGee, St. Louis Cardinals

1984: Ryne Sandberg, Chicago Cubs

1983: Dale Murphy, Atlanta Braves

1982: Dale Murphy, Atlanta Braves

1981: Mike Schmidt, Philadelphia Phillies

1980: Mike Schmidt, Philadelphia Philles

1979: Willie Stargell, Pittsburgh Pirates, and Keith Hernandez, St. Louis Cardinals

1978: Dave Parker, Pittsburgh Pirates

1977: George Foster, Cincinnati Reds

1976: Joe Morgan, Cincinnati Reds

1975: Joe Morgan, Cincinnati Reds

1974: Steve Garvey, Los Angeles Dodgers

1973: Pete Rose, Cincinnati Reds

1972: Johnny Bench, Cincinnati Reds

1971: Joe Torre, St. Louis Cardinals

1970: Johnny Bench, Cincinnati Reds

1969: Willie McCovey, San Francisco Giants

1968: Bob Gibson, St. Louis Cardinals

1967: Orlando Cepeda, St. Louis Cardinals

1966: Roberto Clemente, Pittsburgh Pirates

1965: Willie Mays, San Francisco Giants

1964: Ken Boyer, St. Louis Cardinals

1963: Sandy Koufax, Los Angeles Dodgers

1962: Maury Wills, Los Angeles Dodgers

1961: Frank Robinson, Cincinnati Reds

1960: Dick Groat, Pittsburgh Pirates

1959: Ernie Banks, Chicago Cubs

1958: Ernie Banks, Chicago Cubs

1957: Hank Aaron, Milwaukee Braves

1956: Don Newcombe, Brooklyn Dodgers

1955: Roy Campanella, Brooklyn Dodgers

1954: Willie Mays, New York Giants

1953: Roy Campanella, Brooklyn Dodgers

1952: Hank Sauer, Chicago Cubs

1951: Roy Campanella, Brooklyn Dodgers

1950: Jim Konstanty, Philadelphia Phillies

1949: Jackie Robinson, Brooklyn Dodgers

1948: Stan Musial, St. Louis Cardinals

1947: Bob Elliott, Boston Braves

1946: Stan Musial, St. Louis Cardinals

1945: Phil Cavarretta, Chicago Cubs

1944: Marty Marion, St. Louis Cardinals

1943: Stan Musial, St. Louis Cardinals

1942: Mort Cooper, St. Louis Cardinals

1941: Dolph Camilli, Brooklyn Dodgers

1940: Frank McCormick, Cincinnati Reds

1939: Bucky Walters, Cincinnati Reds

1938: Ernie Lombardi, Cincinnati Reds

1937: Joe Medwick, St. Louis Cardinals

1936: Carl Hubbell, New York Giants

1935: Gabby Hartnett, Chicago Cubs

1934: Dizzy Dean, St. Louis Cardinals

1933: Carl Hubbell, New York Giants

1932: Chuck Klein, Philadelphia Phillies

1931: Frank Frisch, St. Louis Cardinals

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. MLB
  4. Major League History
  5. Award Winners
  6. National League Most Valuable Players Winners

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.