1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

American League Cy Young Award Winners


Winners of the American League Cy Young Award from baseball history, as selected by the Baseball Writers of America:

2013: Max Scherzer, Detroit Tigers

2012: David Price, Tampa Bay Rays

2011: Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers

2010: Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners

2009: Zack Greinke, Kansas City Royals

2008: Cliff Lee, Cleveland Indians

2007: C.C. Sabathia, Cleveland Indians

2006: Johan Santana, Minnesota Twins

2005: Bartolo Colon, Los Angeles Angels

2004: Johan Santana, Minnesota Twins

2003: Roy Halladay, Toronto Blue Jays

2002: Barry Zito, Oakland A's

2001: Roger Clemens, New York Yankees

2000: Pedro Martinez, Boston Red Sox

1999: Pedro Martinez, Boston Red Sox

1998: Roger Clemens, Toronto Blue Jays

1997: Roger Clemens, Toronto Blue Jays

1996: Pat Hentgen, Toronto Blue Jays

1995: Randy Johnson, Seattle Mariners

1994: David Cone, Kansas City Royals

1993: Jack McDowell, Chicago White Sox

1992: Dennis Eckersley, Oakland A's

1991: Roger Clemens, Boston Red Sox

1990: Bob Welch, Oakland A's

1989: Bret Saberhagen, Kansas City Royals

1988: Frank Viola, Minnesota Twins

1987: Roger Clemens, Boston Red Sox

1986: Roger Clemens, Boston Red Sox

1985: Bret Saberhagen, Kansas City Royals

1984: Willie Hernandez, Detroit Tigers

1983: LaMarr Hoyt, Chicago White Sox

1982: Pete Vuckovich, Milwaukee Brewers

1981: Rollie Fingers, Milwaukee Brewers

1980: Steve Stone, Baltimore Orioles

1979: Mike Flanagan, Baltimore Orioles

1978: Ron Guidry, New York Yankees

1977: Sparky Lyle, New York Yankees

1976: Jim Palmer, Baltimore Orioles

1975: Jim Palmer, Baltimore Orioles

1974: Catfish Hunter, Oakland A's

1973: Jim Palmer, Baltimore Orioles

1972: Gaylord Perry, Cleveland Indians

1971: Vida Blue, Oakland A's

1970: Jim Perry, Minnesota Twins

1969: (tie) Mike Cuellar, Baltimore Orioles, and Denny McLain, Detroit Tigers

1968: Denny McLain, Detroit Tigers

1967: Jim Lonborg, Boston Red Sox

1964: Dean Chance, Los Angeles Angels

1961: Whitey Ford, New York Yankees

1959: Early Wynn, Chicago White Sox

1958: Bob Turley, New York Yankees

From 1956-1966 there was one selection from both leagues.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.