1. Sports
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2010 AL Cy Young Award: Felix Hernandez

"King Felix" wins despite just 13 wins, the fewest for winner in a full season


Felix Hernandez, who went 13-12 for a last-place team, won the 2010 American League Cy Young Award.

Hernandez, who received just 2.4 runs per game in support from the Seattle Mariners, had 21 of the 28 first-place votes from the writers.

Hernandez's win total was the fewest for a Cy Young winner in a full season in major-league history. Fernando Valenzuela of the Los Angeles Dodgers also won 13 in 1981, but that season was shortened by 50 games because of a players' strike.

It's also the second year in a row that a pitcher from a last-place team won the Cy Young, as Kansas City's Zack Greinke won in 2009.

Hernandez, 24, dominated several categories other than wins. He led the league with a 2.27 ERA and in innings pitched (249 2/3) and was second in strikeouts (232).

Tampa Bay Rays lefty David Price received four first-place votes and finished second. Only Hernandez and Sabathia, the 2007 AL Cy Young winner, were named on every ballot.

Hernandez was the second Seattle pitcher to win the award (Randy Johnson in 1995) and the second Venezuelan pitcher to win (Johan Santana, in 2004 and 2006).

A look at the voting, a 7-4-3-2-1 system that is weighted toward first-place votes. The Baseball Writers Association of America expanded the voting to five places in 2010 - previously, there were just three players on a ballot.


AL Cy Young 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Pts
Felix Hernandez, Mariners 21 2 3 1 1 167
David Price, Rays 4 15 7 1 111
CC Sabathia, Yankees 3 10 12 2 1 102
Jon Lester, Red Sox 1 9 12 33
Jered Weaver, Angels 1 2 6 2 24
Clay Buchholz, Red Sox 2 5 4 20
Cliff Lee, Mariners-Rangers 1 1 1 6
Rafael Soriano, Rays 1 3 5
Trevor Cahill, Athletics 1 2 4
Joakim Soria, Royals 1 2
Francisco Liriano, Twins 1 1
Justin Verlander, Tigers 1 1
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. MLB
  4. Major League History
  5. Award Winners
  6. 2010 American League Cy Young Award - Seattle Mariners pitcher Felix Hernandez

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.