1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2009 American League Cy Young Award

Royals' Greinke Carries Last-Place Royals


Voting for the 2009 American League Cy Young Award by the Baseball Writers' Association of America (first-place votes in parentheses):

Zack Greinke, Royals (25) — 134

Felix Hernandez, Mariners (2) — 80

Justin Verlander, Tigers (1) — 14

CC Sabathia, Yankees — 13

Roy Halladay, Halladay — 11


  • Greinke, 26, won the award despite winning just 16 games, the lowest total for any Cy Young Award-winning pitcher. No AL starter had won the award without winning at least 18 games.
  • Greinke had a 2.16 ERA, best in the AL and the lowest for an AL Cy Young winner since 2000.
  • It was the fourth time a Royals pitcher has won the award. Bret Saberhagen won twice (1985, 1989) and David Cone won in 1994.
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. MLB
  4. Major League History
  5. Award Winners
  6. 2009 American League Cy Young Award - Zack Greinke

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.